Commandent number 8, and seemingly one of the simplest…Thou shall not steal. Have you ever really thought about what that means? I mean REALLY thought about it? I just got home from church, where we have been going through a series about the Ten Commandments. It has been wonderful, answered many questions I have had for years, not to mention VERY insightful–usually resulting in me walking out with my head hung in shame. It is easy sometimes as a Christian to “rate” myself. I have never committed adultery, murdered, or stolen something from someone. I must be pretty good, right? Through this series, I have learned just how wrong my mortal thinking process is. While each week has been similiarly convicting, I will discuss just this week: theft.

I must give credit for the following to our pastor and church. I was so inspired, however, that I wanted to share. When we hear the term “theft” or “steal,” I think most people think of the taking of a material possession–money, equipment, toys, shoplifting, etc. While theft of material goods certainly qualifies, so do thefts of:

–Time: wasting time rather than working, be it time you are being paid to work or time God has blessed you with to serve Him.
–Purity: taking someone’s purity through innapropriate physical contact, or even emotional purity by flirting, providing innapropriate pictures or literature, or intentionally causing a temptation, etc.
–Reputation: gossip, rumors, etc. Anything that could affect another’s viewpoint of a third party should not be mentioned, whether it is true or not.
–Workplace: not just employee thefts of money, goods, time, etc, but also employer thefts of cheating government or employees of the same.

I know I am very guilty of a couple of those, and pray that God will help me overcome the habitual choices I make all to often that ultimately result in my “stealing.”

Wow, this has been a powerful series. I may have to look into whether I can get CD copies of the whole series for future reference and sharing!

