After a bit of a rough day of vet care, travel, and some unpleasant grooming that did not help much, our newest farm animals are getting settled into their new home at Red Gate Farm.  According to S, they look pretty rough at the moment, but we are hoping to change that soon.  I so wish I could be there right now. 

Unfortunately, no one correctly guessed what our new additions are.  S will be returning home tomorrow with pictures in hand.  I hope to post pics of the actual lawn mowers soon.  In the mean time, I will keep you in suspense no more.  Here is an image I found online to represent ours….

Cheviot Sheep

Cheviot Sheep

Yes, we are officially shepherds!!  Funny thing is, this is the one species of livestock I did not bother researching for the farm.  I will explain more about how all this came about later when I have more time, but we are thrilled to have 5 new Cheviot sheep–4 ewes (females) and a young lamb (I don’t yet know if it is a ewe lamb or a wether (castrated male)).    I have been forewarned that our sheep will likely NOT look like the one above, as they are a mess.  They have not been shorn (wool clipped) in over 3 years, and S says they are filthy, dirty, matted, and just generally rough looking.  But, they are healthy, and as soon as we can get them sheared, they will be good to go.

