Perhaps you have heard of a new pet grooming tool known as the Furminator.  I had heard about this little tool some time ago, and, of course, the ads make it appear to just miraculously rid your pet of all loose hair so they no longer shed.  I never fall for gimmicks like that, and, when possible, I tend to use those around me for product reviews before I purchase something (yes, K, you are my current guinea pig!).  With 2 babies in the house, as well as a nearly 100# dog and a shedding cat, I have to vacuum frequently.  After researching and hearing great things from friends about this tool, though, I took the plunge and made the purchase. The following is the result of our grooming session, and what I concluded:

 

It is astounding how much hair comes out with this thing!

It is astounding how much hair comes out with this thing!

Pros: 

  • Definitely removes your pet’s under coat!
  • Comfortable to hold and use for long periods
  • Drastically reduces in-house shedding
  • Pets seem to enjoy it more than a slicker brush
  • There is no sharp blade, so you don’t have to stress too much over injuring your pet

 

I thoroughly brushed my dog with a standard slicker brush, and got about 2 handfuls of fur out.  Then, I groomed with the Furminator and got enough to stuff a pillow!

I thoroughly brushed my dog with a standard slicker brush, and got about 2 handfuls of fur out. Then, I groomed with the Furminator and got enough to stuff a pillow!

Cons: 

  • Despite what the ad says, it did break and pull hair if I tipped it or combed in even a slightly wrong direction. This is likely worse with medium to long hair than with shorter hair.
  • The first few sessions can take a while, and should be divided up into several sessions
  • Does not remove ALL loose or shedding hair
  • You wind up covered in hair
  • Blade eventually has to be replaced
  • The tool does have sharp teeth that can injure if you aren’t cautious

 

I even tried it out on my cat for a few minutes.  This is gonna be one soft pillow!  (just kidding)

I even tried it out on my cat for a few minutes. This is gonna be one soft pillow! (just kidding)

Conclusion:  I found this to be an amazing product, and exactly what we needed to help control the hair.  There is no doubt it has made a difference.  You should be aware, however, that it is designed for pets with an undercoat (labs, golden retrievers, shepherds, most cat, etc.).  It would likely be a waste of money for other breeds with no under coat (pugs, dachshunds, weimeraners, etc.).  Furthermore, the tool seems to use a static cling factor to help pull loose hair out, so you will likely wind up covered in static pet hair.  Because it does break and damage topcoat hair, I would not recommend using every day.  After the initial sessions, once or twice a week during shedding season should be sufficient without causing too much damage. Initially, grooming will loosen up more hair and stimulate the hair follicles, so you will likely need to do it again later.  Finally, remember, this tool does not perform miracles.  Animals shed.  It’s the way God made them.  If, however, you want to make your life a bit easier in the cleaning realm, then give this tool a try!  FYI, I found mine on Amazon.com for $22, so shop around for the best deal.

