I confess, I have an addiction.  It is pretty serious, if you ask my husband.  I can’t go more than a couple of days without a serious craving.  And now that our summer temperatures are running around 112 degrees (and no, that is not the heat index), it only accentuates the problem……I MUST have some sweet tea!

I consider myself a bit of a southern girl, and although I lived in the south only a short time, I picked up a few bad habits.  A hankering for some sweet tea is one of the worst!  However, as a Type 1 diabetic, the traditional, old fashioned, tons- of-sugar variety didn’t sit too well with my blood sugars (or my health conscious husband)!  So, over the years, I have fine-tuned and perfected my sweet tea recipe to get just the right amount of sweetness, but not too much.  Guests–even those who don’t normally drink tea–have often complimented my tea.  Others who love sweet tea have asked me how to make it.  So, I thought I’d share.  I have tried making it in the microwave, using an electric tea maker, and heating it as “sun tea,” but I have found the perfect glass of tea comes from the stovetop!  I say, “Forget the lemon and fruity stuff!  I like my tea iced and sweet.  There is no better way!” 

DSCF4568

  • 2 quarts of water in a boiler
  • 2 family-size tea bags (I prefer de-caff black tea)
  • 1/3 cup sugar or 35 drops of liquid Stevia

Heat water on stovetop for about 6 minutes, or until you just start to see bubbles forming in the base of the pot.  Heating it too hot will cause the tea to become acidic tasting.  Turn off burner, and stir in sugar or Stevia until fully dissolved.  Add tea bags and allow to soak for about 30 minutes to an hour, depending on how dark you like the tea.  Remove tea bags, stir, and pour into pitcher.  Add ice if desired.

