These days, I feel like a spectator at an event–only the event is not a sports game.  Rather it is my country as I know it, dissolving before my very eyes.  Just a year ago, I was completely ignorant and blind to what was happening.  I fully supported the governmental authorities that were in place to “protect” us (or so I believed).  Now, since our journey toward health, Biblical living, homesteading, farming, and the self-suficient life has begun, my eyes are wide opened.

I have learned that, while most government agencies might have originally been formed with our well-being in mind, they don’t necessarily have that mindset anymore.  Now, many of these agencies are backed by profit-seeking mega corporations, who have the sole mindset to make more money and gain control.  It is greed at its worst.  Some want to eliminate the small-time organic farmers.  Others want to extinguish homeschooling.  Others want to banish parental control of their children.  Many would like to banish God entirely from the nation’s history.  Don’t believe me?  Here are two websites, where you can get more information regarding many of these bills:

http://www.ftcldf.org/federal_bills.htm

http://nche.hslda.org/legislation/default.asp

Just spend a few minutes perusing these sites.  I don’t tend to be a political activist, but I do think you should be aware of what is going on.  Did you know that the US is actively seeking to sign a UN treaty regarding Children’s Rights?  If this bill were to pass into law, most parental rights as we know them could be taken away.  Our children could be required to attend public schools.  That would ultimately outlaw homeschooling.  Our children could speak disrespectfully and disobey as desired, and parents could potentially do nothing about it.  Did you know that some mega-food corporations have lobbyists aiming to shut down small farms?  That’s right.  Since most organic produce comes from those small farms, if they can make the legal red tape tight enough, it would shut down most farms.  I wouldn’t be allowed to buy or sell the food I deem healthiest for my family.  In fact, some interpretations of this bill would make it illegal for me to give, at no cost, my surplus eggs, meat, or milk from my farm to my friends and neighbors!  The government already considers raw milk to be like illegal drugs in some states.  It is considered contraband in some cases (thankfully, not mine–yet).  There is even one state, to my understanding that has tried to make it illegal to drink milk from your own cow!  It doesn’t matter that people drank raw milk for thousands of years, or that people are deemed intelligent enough to make their own decisions regarding alcohol and tobacco.  It doesn’t matter that statistics show that not a single person has gotten sick from raw colostrum, and only a limited few from raw milk.  Pastuerized and homogenized products, on the other hand, sicken many people every year.  These mega-dairies whose pocket-books would be affected have convinced uneducated government agencies that raw milk is so bad for the public health that it needs to be outlawed completely.  As if that wasn’t enough, they want to control your farm too.  There is currently a bill in the works known as NAIS which, simply stated, controls all livestock in America.  It would require anyone who owns livestock to register their property with the government, microchip and ID EVERY livestock animal on their property, and report all livestock births and deaths within 48 hours.  Intersestingly, exceptions for mega-farms are in the bill.  For example, mega-beef ranches or chicken or egg producers only have to register 1 ID for every several thousand animals.  The expense involved in registering every animal on a small farm would essentially drive farmers and ranchers out of business.  At this point, most states still consider it voluntary, however, some officials have already let it be known that after all the kinks are worked out, it will become mandatory.   As we have educated ourselves on rainwater collection, we learned that some states have decided that the STATE owns the rain, and therefore have made it illegal to collect rain! 

This has been weighing heavily on my mind today, as I have struggled to come up with a new plan for acquiring our raw milk and dairy products.  The person running our co-op has decided to go for-profit, and has more than doubled the price of what I would pay to get it directly from the farm.  As a result, I spent half my morning on the phone learning the law to see what I could do to stay within the bounds of the law and still give my family the healthy nourishment they need.  One person gave me some legal advice that would require I be dishonest.  I told him I could not do that, as it was against my Biblical values.  It is just so sad that it has come to this.

As an American citizen, it is frustrating and even frightening to watch this control being implemented.  As a military wife, it is frustrating that my husband spends his entire day dedicated to protecting this country and its constitution, which the federal government seems to twist and trample on every time we turn around.  As a Christian, it is disheartning to see God being so neglected and abandoned by our nation, yet it is simultaneously exciting to watch prophecy being fulfilled more every day.  From a Biblical perspective, it is fascinating.  If you are Christian, you are likely very familiar with the Mark.  Did you know there is a company, called the Verichip Corporation (you can google it), that developed a human microchip several years ago?  They have already used them in children (as a locator), in elderly patients with Alzheimers (to help doctors in an emergency), and, in other countries, it has even been used as a pre-payment credit record of sorts (to prevent money and ID theft).  Are you interested in where they insert this chip?  For now, people are being given a choice, but the most popular (due to ease of scanning) is the upper right arm or right hand.   Despite the emotions at play, though, I know I can rest confident in a supreme God who is ultimately in control of even our government.  As long as I am seeking His will for myself and my family, I can have faith that He will continue to provide, and to open doors to help me do as He instructs. 

I pray also that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know the hope to which he has called you, the riches of his glorious inheritance in the saints, and his incomparably great power for us who believe.  That power is like the working of his mighty strength, which he exerted in Christ when he raised him from the dead and seated him at his right hand in the heavenly realms, far above all rule and authority, power and dominion, and every title that can be given, not only in the present age but also in the one to come.  And God placed all things under his feet and appointed him to be head over everything for the church, which is his body, the fullness of him who fills everything in every way.

–Ephesians 1: 18-23

