It has always fascinated me how completely unique children are.  Personalities and habits differ so much, even at the infant age.   If you throw in a different genetics on top of everything else, the differences get even more interesting.  Take food habits for example.  JR and M both wanted to eat solids by 4-5 months of age.  With JR, he was eating like a pro after only 2 or 3 bites of rice cereal at his very first feeding.  M took a bit longer, but we realized it was simply because she didn’t care for rice cereal.  Once we introduced the veggies, she was an eager participant.   A seemed interested around 6 months, but had a great deal of trouble getting the hang of it.  He tended to gag a lot.  We actually gave him a break for about 2 weeks and tried again, and he has been eating ever since. 

Then came N.  N is now almost 6 1/2 months, and has not shown the least bit of interest in food.  I realize that solids at his age aren’t a necessity, but after another appt with the pediatrician really encouraging me to get him started, I agreed to try.

First bite:

"What did you just put in my mouth?!"

"What did you just put in my mouth?!"

 Bite 3:

"Would you take a hint and stop putting that stuff in my mouth?!

"Would you take a hint and stop putting that stuff in my mouth?!

 I decided to spare you photos of the next few bites, as they involved gagging and vomit….lots of vomit!  That’ll teach me to give him a bottle within 12 hours of a solids intro! (kidding)

Bite 7 or so: (I lost count with all the vomit cleanup).

"That stuff is disgusting, and I have had it!"

"That stuff is disgusting, and I have had it!"

Just for the record, while it may sound like I just fed him too much,  those 7 or so bites totaled about 1 tablespoon of rice!  So, it looks like I am going to wait a few weeks with N before trying again.  He had, by far, the most violent reaction of all our children.  Not impressed is an understatement! 
