We tend to frequently remind our children that God takes care of them.  As they have grown, they seem to be grasping this concept more and more.  Sometimes, we talk about this as part of daily discussions, and other times, the subject comes up during a fearful moment.  Recently, M became very frightened about walking outside in the dark when we were leaving church.  It was completely out of the blue, very unexpected, and she was almost hyperventilating she was crying so hard.  When I finally got her calmed down, as I often do, I asked, “Who will always take care of you and be with you?”  “God” was her simple, soothing reply. 

A few weeks ago, JR relayed a heartwarming story where he had taken this little lesson a step further.  We had a night of thunderstorms, complete with hail.  Unbeknownst to S and I, M was terrified of the lightning and thunder.  Apparently, as we dozed soundly, M’s soft cries woke JR.  He asked her what was wrong, she told him how scared she was, and he said, “Well, we can always pray for God to help you feel better!”  So he did.  I love to picture in my mind what that moment must have looked like–M lying in her bottom bunk bed, and S on the top bunk, and both of them folding their little hands and bowing their heads in prayer.  Prayer that was not only innocent and sincere, but slam packed full of the child-like faith that God WILL provide!

I am a bit on edge tonight.  Since we moved here, I have had a few occurrences that set my internal alarms off.  Little things that I feel goofy even bringing up, yet things that nonetheless set off my gut feeling that something is not right.  One of these somethings happened this evening in the form of an unexpected and strange visitor.  I tend to think I am all calm, cool, and collected with such things, but when my faithful pooch is equally on edge, I can never be sure if he is feeding off of me or responding to something I am not aware of.  In any case, it is times like these when I try desperately to remember the very thing I try to instill in my children.  Just as I, as a mother, am concerned for the well-being and safety of my children, my Heavenly Father is always in control, always watchful, always beside me, and always taking care of me.  It is such a relief when I allow thoughts of the latter to replace the thoughts of “what if’s.”  And I have to admit, He hasn’t let me down yet!

“So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God.  I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.  All who rage against you will surely be ashamed and disgraced; those who oppose you will be as nothing and perish.  Though you search for your enemies, you will not find them.  Those who wage war against you will be as nothing at all.  For I am the Lord, your God, who takes hold of your right hand and says to you, Do not fear; I will help you.”

–Isaiah 41:10-13

