Today, I watched a documentary called “Super Size Me.”  You may have heard about this, as it was produced several years back.  Basically, a guy becomes curious what would happen if he just lived on fast food for a month.  Doesn’t sound that interesting?  Actually, it was fascinating, and very well made!  He did a wonderful job putting together a team of medical professionals to follow him, and the changes to his body, while performing this little experiment.  While I expected the physical issues he experienced, I did not expect some of the “professional” opinions he interviewed.  For example, the woman who headed up a school lunch menu.  This lady was truly in denial!  She was standing there watching this young children purchase candy bars, sodas, and french fries as the staples of their daily lunch, and then tried to explain that (paraphrased) “it is our job to teach them how to make wise choices, not take away their choices.”  What a poor excuse!  I won’t spoil it for you, but I think it is a highly educational documentary into the American way, and every adult should watch!  I will caution you that it does contain a bit of strong language, some gross and graphic scenes such as surgery and vomit, and some references to pre-marital sex (in the context of how the “subject’s” sex life is affected by his diet).  So, please do use caution with children. 

All in all, though, it was an eye-opening, entertaining, fascinating look at what our fast-food society as a whole has become.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d7Tv_mihMBA

Just for the record, I did not watch this entire link, as I saw it in a Netflix stream.  As I am limited on pc time, I watched just enough to ensure it was the correct video.  This seems to be the same thing, however, if it isn’t, please let me know so I can remove it!

Now, I am going to go work out!

