Isn’t life funny sometimes?  I have spent the last 24 hours or so, taking glimpses into our not-to-distant past.  S has been recording our home videos onto DVD’s, and I poke my head in once in a while to reminisce.

You know how it is when you are dating, and you have to somehow record all the special moments –be it in a journal, photos, videos, whatever.  Then the wedding day comes, and you have the professional photographer, the back up photographer, the best friend to get the behind-the-scenes shot, and the other friend to do the video.  Oh, and of course, you have those cheap little disposables set out for the guests to take candid shots of each other (of course, I would forget to take them out of the “wedding closet” and place them out for the guests!)  –all in the name of remembering that special day.  Life goes on, with you recording along with it. 

wedding

Then the first pregnancy, birth, and baby.  You don’t want to miss a single moment in time when it comes to the new addition!  If you don’t already own a video camera, of course, you will rush out and buy one!   I watched the video and was reminded of my attempt to be a good mommy and make a healthy cake for JR’s first birthday.  It was a fruit-juice sweetened carrot cake, with all homemade ingredients (mind you, I knew nothing about organics at this point!).  Oh, it was a miserable failure!  JR didn’t mind it, and I had to smile watching that video of him digging in with both hands.  He had no idea how awful that cake really was!! 

And I swore that I would never attempt to bake another cake from scratch as long as I lived!

JR at Red Gate Farm in 2005

JR at Red Gate Farm in 2005

Then the second pregnancy, birth, and baby comes along.   As we go through the pregnancy, I realized there is a bit less video of M.  At least I took lots of still photos.

M at 8 months

M at 8 months

By that point, I was a scrapbooking consultant, and am a firm believer in photos and albums!!  JR and M grew and so did my collection of photos of them and our life together.  Yet, the videos begin to thin out.  The still images are there in the photo pile, but the personalities, actions, and behaviors that can only be captured on video are dwindling down. Then, as we watched the few remaining videos, I realized that never, in almost 17 months, have we taken a single video of A or N (or JR or M for that matter!) Thank the Lord, I kept up with my regular photos, or those poor boys would feel completely unloved! 

A at 2 weeks

A at 2 weeks

I mean, seriously, what happened to my attentiveness to capturing detailed memories?!  Does life just get that busy?  Have I been there, seen it, done it enough that I don’t need more?  Do the priorities change?  What causes this neglect in memory preservation? 

N at 1 week old

N at 1 week old

 I can just picture the day we sit down, 10 years from now to watch old family movies (assuming DVDs are still around then!), and A looks at me and says, “Uh, Mom, why aren’t there any movies with me as a baby?”  Oh, how embarrassing that will be!  I guess that’s when I will shrug my shoulders, and try to change the subject by handing him his baby scrapbook album.  Maybe I could point out, “at least you have twice as many still photos as your brother, N!”  Ok, so maybe that won’t work. 
.
In the mean time, I guess we should start taking a bit more video!  Better safe than sorry.  I suppose it’s better to have the videos and never watch them, than to want to watch them and they not exist. 
.
I don’t think I am alone here.  What area of memory-preservation are you lacking in?  Is there an area you would like to improve in, so you don’t forget another single detail about your children (or dog, cat, life, whatever)?
