Ever since our family transitioned to a healthier lifestyle, focusing on organic foods, fresh produce, raw milk, and foods made-from-scratch when possible, we have had the wonderful and unexpected side effect of better health overall.  We rarely get infections or get sick in any way.  When we do get sick, it is typically very mild, and lasts only a couple of days.  Our bodies just seem to fight off infection with little effort.  The babies seem to be affected the worst, and I have to assume it is because they are as yet unable to benefit from our diet as much. 

After 4 kids, I seem to be immune to almost every common virus, and seldom get more than some sniffles.  This week, however, I have had a virus trying to take hold all week.  It is hard to explain, but I actually feel fine.  You may have experienced the feeling though, when there is just a hint of pressure in your head, and the slight little tickle in the back of your throat.  Well, that’s basically what I have been dealing with.  Not really sick, just noticing the threat that I could get there.  It started out as a threat of a head-cold, but I fought it off within 36 hours.  It never took hold, and I never had the first sniffle.  The next day, I woke up with the tickle in my throat, but otherwise fine.  By last night, it seemed to be settling into my chest, providing just enough of a tickle that I want to cough periodically.  I woke up this morning, still feeling fine, except my voice was threatening to leave, and the throat tickle was a bit worse.  That’s when it hit me!

I am the guest speaker at a woman’s church function tomorrow evening.  I will be driving to another state on a 4-hour one-way trip to speak about what kind of woman God uses.  And now, for probably the third time all year, I am threatening to get sick.  Not only that, but of all the ways a virus can affect you, it is attacking my voice!  Whoa, Nellie!  Suddenly, I realized that perhaps, just perhaps, I am fighting much more than a common virus.  This could be an actual spiritual battle taking place within my body!  If Satan is able to take my voice, I can’t speak.  On one hand, I have to confess, it’s almost flattering that Satan would bother with the likes of little ol’ me.  On the other hand, it looks like he forgot one big thing, though!

I have God the Father on my side!  Jehovah-Jireh, Messiah, Savior, the Bread of Life, Light of the World, the Good Shepherd, the Alpha and Omega, King of the Universe, and the Jesus Christ himself is fighting for me, and Satan doesn’t stand a chance!  I will be dressed in the armor of God.  Satan may knock me down a few times, but he can do nothing without God’s approval, and even then, whatever happens between now and then will be part of God’s infinite will! 

As a born-again Christian, isn’t it wonderful knowing that little fact?!

“Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power.  Put on the full armor of God so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes.  For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.  Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand.  Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your wasit, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace.  In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one.  Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.  And pray in the Spririt on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests.  With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the saints.  Pray also for me, that whenever I open my mouth, words may be given me so that I will fearlessly make known the mystery of the gospel, for which I am an ambassador in chains.  Pray that I may declare it fearlessly, as I should.”    –Ephesians 6: 10-20

