I took another big step last week.  I finally ran out of my bulk order of dishwashing gel, and made my own!  As it turned out, I already had all the ingredients needed since I made my laundry detergent.  So far, I have been very impressed, and the dishes come out sparkling clean!  This is going to save a tremendous amount of $$, as it only uses 2 tablespoons per load!

Homemade Dishwasher Soap

  • 1 cup Borax
  • 1 cup Arm & Hammer Washing Soda
  • Vinegar (optional)

Combine Borax and Soda in jar, mix well.  Use 2 Tablespoons powder per dishwasher load. 

For best results, use vinegar in the dishwasher’s Rinse Aid holder.

UPDATE

After using this mixture for almost a year, in two different homes, two different states, hard and soft(er) water, we finally accepted that this recipe does leave a white, filmy residue on the dishes.  While the residue can be easily washed off, it is a bit embarrassing.  A temporary solution I have found for now, is to continue using vinegar as my rinse-aid, using the recipe for my pre-wash cycle, and using a standard dish gel for the main wash.  This seems to be working much better, as the recipe detergent continues to save me money, while the final, main wash eliminates any residues.

