It looks like I have finally taken the big step of cloth diapering.  Not entirely, mind you, but I am testing the waters a bit.  One of our new neighbors used them for her children, and her last is in the midst of potty training.  It is a step I have (sort-of) wanted to take for a while, but just haven’t had the courage to do it.  The other day, she showed up at my house with a handful of “Fuzzy-buns” re-usable diapers, gave me a quick lesson on how  to work with and clean them, and left them with me.  I no longer had any excuse why I wasn’t using them.  I have only used them for a day so far, so I can’t really report on them yet.  I can say they are a LOT different than the cloth diapers I use for burp cloths.  I thought you had to have diaper pins, waterproof coverings, and slew of patience, but these are quite simple!  They are a fabric diaper with a waterproof polyurethane liner, and an interior made of fleece that wicks away the moisture.  Between the inside fleece liner and the outer covering is a pocket where you slide in an absorbent fabric pad to catch the excess moisture.  It works identical to a regular disposable diaper in putting it on, but rather than velcro, adjustable snaps allow the diaper to grow with the child.  So far, I am impressed.  Once soiled, you simply remove the pad from the pocket, launder the pad and shell, and re-use.  No doubt it would be more economical, not to mention keeping more diapers out of landfills.  I have not yet decided if I will use them solely with N, as it may not be as economical since he will likely be potty training in a few months.  However, if we do wind up with a new baby in the future, I may well have a new diapering technique!

