If you are anything like me, and don’t have an unlisted phone number/address, then you may get bombarded with sales calls and junk mail.  I despise both, and for a number of years, we have registered with the government’s “Do Not Call” registry.   I have been surprised how many people still don’t know about this service, though. 

The “Do Not Call” registry is a free government service that requires all companies who do sales calls to remove your number from their list of cold-calls.  While it does not apply to charities (therefore you may still get requests for money and donations), it applies to most other businesses.  It is so easy to register!  Just go online to https://www.donotcall.gov/ and follow the links and instructions.  Within minutes, you can register your home number, business number, and/or cell phone number.  It will take 4-6 weeks to be removed from most lists, so don’t be surprised if you get a few more calls. 

As if that isn’t good enough, I also discovered a way to eliminate over 75% of my junk mail!  We just moved and this is the first time I have used this service, but so far I am impressed.  For the first time in the history of my adult life, I may go several days with NO mail since I don’t get unsolicited flyers and catalogs.  I always hated the waste of paper that went straight to my trash due to these mailers.  The link  for that service is https://www.dmachoice.org/dma/member/regist.action  Again, just fill out your info, and it goes into the database for businesses, requiring them to remove the listed addresses from their mailing lists. 

There is one other link I can offer that lists these and several more–like if you get mail for a deceased family member, etc.  I have not personally used them, but it may be handy for you.  It is http://www.privacyrights.org/fs/fs4-junk.htm#getofflist  You can find quite a bit of interesting info on here. 

I hope this helps you find some reprieve as it did for me!

