I recently discovered this recipe when I was desperate to use up some of the abundant zucchini in my fridge.  Mind you, I have been looking for the “perfect” brownie recipe anyway–fudgy and moist, without being cake-like, but at the same time, natural and free of any unhealthy ingredients.  I found it!!  I know it sounds a little odd, but believe me, it is worth a try!!  

Zucchini Brownies

  • 1/2 cup plain yogurt
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1  3/4 cup freshly-ground soft wheat flour
  • 1/3 cup baking cocoa
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp powdered Stevia

Combine all ingredients in mixing bowl, and mix well.  If you notice coconut oil clumps, you may have to warm the batter slightly to get the oil fully mixed in. 

  • 2-3 cups fresh, shredded zucchini  (I simply wash and slice off the ends before shredding.  I do NOT peel it, as the peel provides extra nutrition!)
  • 1/2-1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips (I prefer these to the milk-chocolate variety.  They are about 65% or so cocoa, which is healthier and less sugar!)
  • 1/2-1 cup chopped walnuts  (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Mix zucchini thoroughly into batter.  Pour batter into greased 9×13 pan.  Spread batter evenly around pan.  Sprinkle chocolate chips over batter.  If desired, sprinkle nuts over as well.  Bake at 350 for 35-40 minutes, or until toothpick inserted into center comes out clean.   Cool and then cut into bars and relish in such a healthy dessert!

