I picked up this week’s food shares and thought it blog worthy:

Technically, my weekly share consists of the 2 dozen eggs, the 2 bags full of peaches, pears, nectarines, and apples, the squash, cucumbers, zucchini, spring onions, lettuce, collards, potatoes, lemon cucumbers, kohlrabi, eggplant, carrots, hot peppers, dill, parsley, cabbage, baby spinach, and more lettuce.  In addition, I also received my canning share for the week–2 full boxes, which equals about 45 pounds, of green beans, as well as a 20 lb. box of broccoli to make up for the aphid-infested bunch last week.

S and I were both up until almost 11 last night chopping and slicing what we could for the dehydrator, I froze all the cooking greens, and blanched, chopped, and froze as much broccoli as I could stand.  After working for over an hour, I finally called a fellow-CSA member/friend and offered her the remaining 10 lbs or so of broccoli.  I have officially lost count of the number of gallon-sized bags of broccoli I have processed between last week and this week! 

Now, I have to start canning.  I hope to complete one canning project each day to be done by the weekend.  I have the green beans, which will be mixed with some wax beans from last week’s share, and some cucumbers to turn into pickles.  I also have some cabbage, zucchini, and squash to chop and freeze yet.  Whew, I am finally understanding why harvest season is such a busy time for farmers!!   But it will be so nice to have such delicious and nutritious food put away for this winter!

