I don’t usually tend to be very political.  I do my duty like vote, but that has always been about it.  Yet, the more I learn about what is happening to our food supply, the more outraged I am.  I realized that I can be angry all day, but that really makes no difference where it counts, unless I put actions to my thoughts and try to DO something about it.   I have never seen “Do you want access to raw milk and local produce?” on a ballot.  So, I realized I had to do something different to get my voice heard.  Although my voice tends to be small, when it combines with thousands of others in unison, the sound tends to get quite a bit louder!  A big problem we are facing currently is in regards to our right to eat healthy foods.  I understand that there are many people who prefer to trust the FDA and other agencies for oversight of their food.  I understand that many folks out there truly believe there is no difference between conventional and organic foods.  The problem I have is when rights start being taken away.  My father and husband made full careers in the military, defending my (and your) rights.  Who would have thought the right to choose what to eat would be in jeopardy?  If you are one of those who prefer pastuerized, homogenized milk, that is totally fine with me.  I just beg you not take away MY right to drink raw milk or eat organic, natural, local, farm-produced foods if I should prefer that route.  I think there is plenty of room for both beliefs.  Many government officials, however, do not agree.  They believe it is their job to determine what we can and can’t eat.  I don’t like that idea one bit.  So what can you do about it?

 There are several websites I encourage you to visit when you have a chance….

http://www.ftcldf.org/  is a wealth of info of some of the initiatives, legislation, and government interferences taking place right now in this country.  I could spend hours perusing that site if I had the time!  It is loaded with factual info!

http://www.westonaprice.org/action-alerts/2010-alerts.html is a great page for getting actions taking place RIGHT now, many of which you can help by joining with others to have your voice heard.

One of the action alerts in particular is a pressing issue that needs attention RIGHT NOW!  This may seem a strange request for my blog, but I figured it is the fastest way to get word out.  I would love to see this type of stuff go viral!  A grass-fed, raw milk, natural dairy in Missouri is under attack.  They did nothing wrong, but unfortunately fell into a group of raw milk farms that were part of a massive raid over the summer.  You can read the details at this site:

http://www.westonaprice.org/action-alerts/2010-alerts/2050-support-morningland-dairy.html

This is a great chance to get involved.  Even if you don’t live in MO, you can help in several ways.  First, use the contact info on that page to express your outrage and your desire for freedom of choice to those officials.  It only took me about 5 minutes.  The page even gives you ideas as to what to say.  Secondly, show your support specifically to Morningland Dairy.  They are at risk of losing everything they have worked for, and it’s just not right!  In order to fight this, they have to raise money.  Money to pay their mortgage, cover the losses of their cheese, and to help with the legal bills involved.  They are asking everyone to “sponsor a pound of cheese.”  You won’t receive any cheese, but you are essentially showing support for the family, the farm, and the rights of every American citizen by pitching in in increments of $5.  I felt like the little I contributed was a great way to combine my voice with the thousands of others to let the government hear us.  Even if you are not a supporter of raw milk and organic foods, by participating, you can still help let it be known that you DO support freedom of choice in what we eat.  Just click the following link for a direct way to PayPal them (toward the bottom of the page).

http://uncheeseparty.wordpress.com/

