JR started reading two years ago when we went through the book “Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons.”  Now M, who is 4, is going through it.  I have come to love that book for teaching reading and basic phonics.  JR, of course, has moved on to bigger and better stories, most of which are found in his daily reading assignments.  Every now and then, however, with increasing frequency, he will bring one of his story-books from downstairs, and excitedly exclaime, “Listen, Mom, I can read this!”  He wanted me to listen recently as he read a sentence from a bedtime-story book.  I sat down on the couch, and he got so wrapped up in his reading that his one sentence turned into two, then three, then a whole page, and then a second page.  Finally, he looked up with a grin, and said, “Mom, I’m really tired, but I really want to hear the rest of the story, could you please read me the last page?”  Of course, I did. 

This is one of the joys of homeschooling.  It makes those difficult moments so worth while.  I love seeing my son developing a passion and an enjoyment for reading.  He is still my perfectionist, and gets easily discouraged when he can’t figure a word out, but I find that as he gets more confident, those difficult words are becoming fewer.  I love seeing his excitement at picking up a story and reading it to his sister (who is always willing to listen!).  Then, there are occasional times when he just steals a quiet moment alone to read something, like in the pic above.  I found him laying on Will’s (the dog) bed in my bedroom corner, just looking through this book.  I thought it was one of the most precious moments of my week!  I only hope I can encourage that passion, as he comes to realize that those books on the shelves are so much more than dust collectors.  Rather, they can be his vessel to anywhere he wants to travel…truly, they can be his window to the whole world, and even beyond!

