I thought I would give you a little update on our adoption situation. 

As you know, we completed our homestudy for this adoption (adoption #3; child #5) in early September.  The following week, our online profile became active.  Since then, we have simply been waiting, putting out the word here and there, but mostly waiting to see how God would work.  While we are still waiting, we have had some encouraging contacts (though, for obvious reasons, I cannot give many details). 

First, in late September, I received an e-mail from an expectant mother considering placing her baby.  She is due in late November.  We e-mailed back and forth for the weekend, and then she just stopped.  I know she was having a tough time, so I don’t know if she changed her mind or what.  I am ASSUMING she either chose another couple or wants to try to keep the baby.  Either way, I truly hope she found peace. 

That was all for about a month, then this past weekend, I received a phone call.  I totally expected it to be S, who was out of town that evening.  When it turned out to be another expectant mom, I was totally caught off guard.  Shortly after we started talking, her cell phone cut off and, fearing I had sounded like a babbling baffoon, wondered if she would call back.  She did, and we talked for over an hour.  Then, she called again the next morning, and we talked for almost 2 hours.  She is confident she wants to place her baby, and is due in early December.  Nothing is official at this point.  We are still just talking and getting to know each other.  She is gradually opening up more and more, and seems increasingly comfortable with choosing us to parent her baby.  If she calls or e-mails again, then it will likely be time to move to the next level and start working on getting proof of pregnancy and begin arranging legal professionals on her end.  It is a possibility we could have a baby by Christmas.

Then again, like the first girl, we may never hear from her again, and we continue waiting for God to match us with the right person.  This independent adoption thing is certainly different from our last two, but we are eager to see how it all works out!

