Thanks to my CSA, I had collected an abundance of eggplant, and needed a way to use it.  I have tried a few popular recipes like Eggplant Parmesan and grilled eggplant, but since the kids and I aren’t really eggplant fans, we just couldn’t seem to make a dent in my stock.  Until now.  Thanks to this recipe, I am actually out of eggplant!  Even the kids couldn’t get enough!

Baked Eggplant Fries

  • 1 medium eggplant, sliced lengthwise into 1/2 inch strips
  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs
  • 1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • 1 tsp Italian seasoning
  • 1/2 tsp garlic salt
  • 2 tsp garlic (we love garlic around here!)
  • 2 eggs

In a shallow dish, combine bread crumbs, Parmesan, Italian seasoning, garlic salt, and garlic.  Mix thoroughly.  In seperate dish, scramble the eggs.  Dip the eggplant strips into the egg, then coat with bread crumb mixture.  Arrange in a single layer on a greased cookie sheet.  Spritz eggplant strips with cooking spray.  Bake at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes, or until golden and crisp looking.  Turn sticks over, spritz with cooking spray, and continue to bake for another 15 minutes or so, or until golden and crisp.  Serve immediately, as they are best warm.  You can serve with a plain tomato or spaghetti sauce as a dip, if desired. 

Note:  While I did not peel my eggplant, I did notice that the peel side of the strips did not hold the crust very well.  I decided to use the parts that were fully covered in peel for other things.  Just a bit of peel on the tips really won’t affect it much.

