For a little over a week now, I have been e-mailing back and forth with an expectant young lady considering us to adopt her baby.  After already experiencing several scams, I have been very on guard, searching for ANYTHING that could potentially be a red flag.  I have been researching any little tid-bit of personal information she e-mailed, and watching my scam boards for her info.  So  far, nothing has turned up as “red flagged.” 

For the first time in this current adoption process, we stepped to a new level today.  Her family contacted our case worker to talk.  I was then able to get more info on the situation, as well as a second opinion on the legitimacy, from the case worker.  Of course, I can’t put much about the situation on here, but what I can say is that things are looking very “up” right now.  She has sent a photo of herself, and she is a very attractive young girl who seems to have made a poor decision one day.  I am still guarding my heart, waiting for the whole thing to fall apart, but having reached this next level does cause a little bit of excitement to creep in.  We are currently scheduled to meet her and her family next week, just before we leave for the farm.  We should also find out next week if the baby is a boy or girl, and get a more definite due date.  They apparently gave our agency the go-ahead to start the birthparent process and paperwork.  If everything works out and continues moving forward, then she is due in about 2 months.  No matter how I look at it, next week could turn out to be very exciting and interesting as it plays out.  And extra busy! 

So, do we have a baby on the way?  Maybe.  Only God knows right now, but I’ll keep you posted as we learn more.

