Ever notice how some things occur with the absolute WORST possible timing?  Our level of planning usually helps prevent such unexpected occurrences.   Not this time.  I am expecting a baby any day now, and I am sick!  So is the rest of the family.  In the history of our family, I don’t think we have ever had more than 2 people sick at the same time.  Usually, illness makes the rounds, jumping from one person to the next over the course of a week or two.  This time, we all woke up Sunday morning with minor head colds.  I immediately put all but the youngest children on regular doses of cod liver oil and elderberry, and everyone on oranges and raw milk to boost the immune system a bit.  Seems to be working, as the kids have not gotten any worse.  S seems to be getting over his now.  I think he had his worst day on Monday.  Me, yah, not so lucky.  I am miserable.  I have a vaporizer by my bed, homemade body cream to douse my chapped nose in every night (works very well, actually!), and lots of Kleenex handy.  I am thankful, as I know I could be a lot worse than I am.  Thanks to God and our health, when we get sick, it is usually relatively mild (comparatively) and short lived.  Still, though, the coughing, sneezing, stuffy head, blah, blah, blah, without the Nyquil (or whatever medicine the commercial is for)  is no fun at all!  

The part that has me nervous is that what is considered a common head cold in children and adults, is often the same virus as what causes RSV in infants.  My last 2 kiddos got RSV–simultaneously.  N was around 3 months old, and A was around 12 months.  A was OK for the most part, with just a bit of a cough, but for N, it was downright scary.  Our days consisted of frequent breathing treatments, and monitoring N.  Infants exhibit the signs differently, and he became quite lethargic at one point.   I am soooooo praying we all heal up quickly, as I do not want to risk this new little one contracting RSV.  I want to give her the best start possible.  Now to heal up…..

