Over the last couple of years, since I started blogging, I have become friends with a lady half-way across the country named Terri.  We have never met in person, but we have exchanged many e-mails, thoughts, animal and farm advice, and generally gotten to know each other through the cyberspace.  We have even mailed gifts back and forth to each other.  We have proven to have a great deal in common–adoption, faith in God, a large family, homeschooling, and a love for the simple, country life to start with.  She lives not too incredibly far from our farm, so I hope to one day meet her and her family. 

We were very busy this past weekend house-hunting, so I sat down Sunday afternoon to feed the baby and catch up on my favorite blogs.  When I opened her blog, I saw a picture of her 12-yr.-old son, Trent, and a short post saying he was in heaven, dancing before the King.  I had to read and re-read it several times before it sunk in.  On Friday, February 18th, Trent died suddenly in a freak accident.  I was suddenly overcome with emotion for this woman and her family. 

As things happen, we wound up speaking on the phone for a while.  It was absolutely amazing to hear her voice, with that thick Northern accent, and what she had to say.  She actually called me (as if she didn’t have enough to worry about), and I listened as she told me Trent’s story, and how, despite their humanly sorrow, they are rejoicing in what God is doing in their lives.  Instead of having a funeral, they are holding a celebration of life, during which they will be ministering to the many around them who do not know Christ. 

It just “happens” (I don’t believe in coincidence) that I am going through the book of Job during my personal quiet time, and listening to Terri was like the perfect picture of what Job describes–maintaining your faith and trust in God’s ultimate plan as we experience trials.  She and her family have decided that God will call each of them when He is ready, but by calling Trent alone, He was leaving them to continue living.  Therefore, Trent’s death was not an excuse for them to quit living, but rather to live more fully and wholly in Christ!  She actually had me almost laughing at one point!  What an amazing testimony! 

Terri has requested that the story be spread as much as possible.  If you would like to catch up, you can read her blog at Our Crazy Farm.  She has also requested prayer tomorrow, Thursday the 24th, between 2 and 11.  That is when they will be having the viewing and the celebration of life, complete with the gospel message.  Their prayer is that their son’s life will be used to bring as many to a personal relationship with Christ as possible.  As people view his earthly body, they want people to understand that his spirit is alive and well, dancing before his King, while also asking themselves what their final, eternal destination will be.

