….and I’m not talking about Jesus’ return, although that is getting closer too. 

In this case, I am talking about our time living in this house that almost seems to be deteriorating around us.  This has been such a whirlwind, and it has been fascinating to see God working at every step of the way.  Just about one month ago, we weren’t even considering buying, but we were so tired of the problems with this house we live in.  Then one day, S suggested I research area houses to see what was available.  I found a few and we drove by them that evening, then we went back with a realtor the next day to look inside.  The one S liked best turned out to be a foreclosure that had just gone on the market the evening before we found it!  We decided to put in an offer, but when we discovered it was bank-owned, we were warned the process could take 4-6 months, which is apparently quite common around here.  Our offer was accepted just 48 hours later.  Of course, there have been some rough and frustrating spots along the way, but all-in-all, it has been nothing short of miraculous to watch as things have just fallen into place.  As of yesterday, it looks like our final closing date will be early next week. 

As I sit here typing this, holding my bundled baby in my arms, being cautious not to touch her skin with my hands because they are freezing,  and all but shivering from the draftiness of this house, I can’t help but remember standing in the living room of the new house, with no heat on, and the sun streaming through the numerous open windows of the home on a chilly day.  I looked at S and exclaimed, “Do you have any idea how nice this feels, to just be WARM?”  I felt no drafts coming through, and I could have stood there all day soaking up the sun.  It was so wonderful!!  Shortly after we got back to our current house, S tried to open a faulty drawer that constantly sticks, and he frustratedly exclaimed something like, “It will be so nice to be able to just properly fix any issues at our new house!”

Alas, time is short.  At this point, I have less than 2 days to pack my house, and I feel like I’ve barely made a dent in it.  Our lease ends on April 8, so we have to be totally cleared out and inspected by then.  Here’s the clincher, though…we were unable to postpone our trip back to Red Gate Farm, as we have 15 orchard trees, some grapevines, and some random berry bushes arriving on Monday, and they have to get planted in the ground somehow!  So, in the middle of all this, I am also cooking for the move, cooking for the trip, packing for the trip, and we are going to drive 30 hours (round trip) to stay 2-3 days, just to get everything planted.  We have to have the entire house packed and ready to move before we leave.  As soon as we return, we have to focus on getting the new house cleaned top-to-bottom and painted before we can move in.  We hope, with help, to get that done in about 2 days.  Then, that weekend, we will be moving in.  Once we get moved out of this house, we also have to get it cleaned for inspection.  In case you lost track, all that is happening in the next 11 days! 

As a bonus, we have all agreed we want to get the critters started as soon as possible–both to save money and to take advantage of the spring weather.  So, Saturday, S took us all up north to look at another goat I had found.  She is due to kid in May.  We liked her and put a down-payment on her, and they agreed to hold her until we come get her.  S also wanted to use up some scrap lumber in our garage, so he has started building necessities for our new animals.  He needed to accurately measure a few things, so he sent me to the local farm store for supplies.  JR and I had so much fun shopping for our incoming critters–goat collars, feed bowls, rabbit sifter-feeders, trace-mineral blocks, chick brooder lamps and supplies, and more.  I was willing to wait another week or so to actually get the animals, so S wouldn’t be rushed on his projects, but he told me this morning to schedule with the owners to go pick up the goats next Sunday (the 27th)!  YIPPEE!  He also wants me to order the chicks ASAP.  I offered to just go to the local feedstore and buy some for cheaper, but since there is no guarantee on what breed they are, he wants me to go ahead and order for the actual purposes we need them–meat and eggs.  Oh, these are the things that we have dreamed of and planned and discussed for years, and they are finally coming to fruition, and it is sooooooo exciting!! 

God is so good, his blessings are limitless, and his grace and mercy are never-ending!

