Our new layer hens seem to have settled in beautifully.  When I went to check on them last night before bed, the hens had all settled nicely into the straw, or perched on the make-shift nest box.  The goats were a little annoyed at the visitors in their shed, but they seem to have adapted as well. 

This morning, S and M hung out in the pen for most of the morning, watching, petting, and holding the hens, and praying for eggs.  I tried to explain we might not get any since they had the stress of a new environment.  By mid-morning, I was almost convinced I was right–until M came running across the yard, as fast as her little legs would run, holding a most-prized possession, our first egg!  Then she dropped it and we watched as it rolled across the ground.  Thankfully, it must be a healthy hen, as the shell didn’t so much as crack (though it may be thoroughly scrambled at this point).   As the day wore on, 2 more eggs were layed.

Our first 3 home-grown, free-range, farm-fresh eggs!

 3 eggs out of 6 hens on the first day isn’t too shabby, IMHO!

In other, completely unrelated news, Sara looks ready to explode!  Her due date is technically May 11, so we likely have a few more days.  Then again, she is a first-freshener, so who knows when she will pop?!  She sure looks ready to now!

About all she does these days is lay around.  Poor Lilac tries desperately to get her to play, but Sara is not interested.  She just walks from one resting spot to another, digs a little nest, and plops down.  That is about the extent of her day, with just enough eating and drinking to keep her alive, I guess.  FYI, she doesn’t appear this large when she stands up, so I am thinking 1, MAYBE (hopefully) 2 babies, but I would be highly surprised if it’s any more than that.  She is no doubt full of baby though.  Even my young children have no problem feeling baby parts pressing against her belly.  She is physically preparing–I think.  I noticed today that her normally pregnant-appearing sides had disappeared when she stands, so I am thinking babies are moving into position.  Her udder is filling with thick, syrupy, sticky, yellow colostrum, and I could swear her hind end has changed.  I just don’t have any hind end pictures for reference.  That has never been an area I tend to focus my photographic efforts.  I’ll keep you posted.  If you have any thoughts on her, I would love to hear them. 

Now, I need a good recipe requiring eggs to cook for dinner!

