Ok, in case you weren’t positive we had lost our minds, we got more animals. 

Oh, but don’t worry, this is totally different!  It’s all in the name of SAVING money, being frugal, and going natural.  See?  Totally different. 

In all seriousness, when we decided to go for the BARF diet for the animals, we started with what was in our freezers.  However, we only had a very limited supply available in regards to meats I wouldn’t use (mostly offal, rabbit ribs, etc.)  When feeding an 80 pound dog and a growing pup, that won’t last long, and that fact rapidly became apparent.  So, I found a few stores I could buy waste meat from, but still, that involved spending money.  (OK fine, call me cheap!  I just have issues paying a retail price for what would otherwise be thrown in the trash bin!)  Therefore, I went to my trusty Craigslist.  I placed an honest ad, which explained how we house, feed, and treat our animals.  I essentially offered to accept unwanted chickens, goats, and rabbits.  I said I wouldn’t pay, but promised that if we chose to use them for meat, the animal would be treated humanely and there would be absolutely no suffering. 

I didn’t think anything would actually come of it, but hey, why not try, right?  S was totally game to slaughter free meat and get the practice.  I figured I have a perfect quarantine pen in the form of my multi-purp brooder pen, so the new animals are never exposed to our normal animals.  That pen is easy to clean out.  It is a perfect place to “detox” any incoming arrivals, get them going on organic, and go from there.  Of course, I wouldn’t take any obviously sick or downer animals anyway if the reason isn’t perfectly clear.  And, who knows, I could wind up with some type of really cool keeper-critter (like easter egg layers or alpine goats!) 

Well, as it turned out, by the end of the day, I had two responses!  One lady had 9 roosters she had no use for and was sick of feeding them.  I told her we use roosters for meat around here, and she said that was fine.  She just apparently couldn’t kill them herself and would rather someone else do it.  So, I agreed to pick them up. 

Then, another lady who raises Boer meat goats for 4-H and show, had a 6-month old doeling she needed to cull.  This doeling, although perfectly healthy, just didn’t make the cut for her ideal breeder.  She had some personal attachment to the goat, and said we could do whatever we wanted with her, but she just couldn’t slaughter the goat herself.  Works for me. 

So, it looks like we will soon have about 70 lbs. of free meat, offal, and bones in the freezer–the better cuts of which we may well eat, and the rest will go to the carnivores around this place.

