It is, apparently, a well-known fact that donkeys hate water.  Absolutely, positively despise it.  Though I haven’t tested the idea, I have read in several places that no amount of bribery will make a donkey cross water if it doesn’t want to.

It is also a well-known fact that donkeys pout.  With those sweet eyes and overly-long ears, their pouty face is irresistible!  If anything doesn’t go according to their plan, they know how to put it on and milk it for all it’s worth!

Of course, if a rainstorm happens to come long, a donkey will often choose to avoid the shelter, preferring to stand out in the rain and get soaked.  While they pout about it.  This I do know, as I have seen it with not only my 2 donks, but some down the road from us as well.

Clearly they are waterproof, seeing as how they do stand in the rain by choice, and survive it.  So, recently, when I really needed to hose off Shiloh’s legs, I decided, hey, why not hose her down completely?!  I have never bathed her before,  she was filthy since donkeys love to roll in the dust, and it was a warm day.  I figured I had nothing to lose.

Have you ever wondered what you get when you hose off a donkey that hates water and pouts when things don’t go as planned?  This is what you get:

 

Yep, after realizing she couldn’t escape the water, she dropped her head, and didn’t move again.  I had time to totally squeegee her off, go get the camera, snap several photos, and still, she didn’t move.  She was ticked off!  Of course, this is one of the many reasons I have come to the conclusion that donkeys are the perfect mount for my children to learn from.  Whereas I have seen horses totally blow up from frustration when handled improperly, even the poorest rider could ride a pouting, ticked-off donkey since all they do is stand there like this!  She did the same thing the first time she got zapped by our hot-wire fence, but only after yelling curses at every person standing within hearing distance.  She also pouted the first time we hitched her up to pull a sled.  It took a little coaxing to convince her she could still walk and that it might even be fun!

Pouting donkeys could definitely be frustrating, if they weren’t so stinkin’ cute when they did it!!

 

