My husband is the most content person you would ever meet — spiritually, physically, socially, you name it. He just makes himself happy with whatever situation life throws at him.  In most cases, this is a good thing and puts me to shame since I am definitely not that content. Believe it or not, though, that can be a downfall.  Just try to buy a gift for someone who wants for nothing.  Therefore, if my beloved ever actually voices that he wants something, you can bet I listen!  The only thing he has really mentioned wanting over the last two years is to be more sustainable in his shaving habits.  Rather than the plastic safety-razor that has replaceable, throw-away blades, or the re-chargeable electric razor that eventually winds up in a landfill, he wanted to try the very old-fashioned, re-usable straight razor.  You know, the kind your great-grandfather used.

After overcoming my fears of my children getting hold of this weapon, or my beloved slicing his own throat open, I finally gave in–mainly because I just didn’t know what else to get him for his recent birthday.  After a bit of research, I bought him a complete kit from my new favorite, sustainable, American-made, catalog, Lehman’s, which, although more expensive, I figured it was the safest way to go since I didn’t have a clue how this stuff was used or how to piece it together.

The Lehman catalog beginner’s kit

He was thrilled.  He spent an afternoon reading shaving articles, and watching shaving lessons on YouTube.  Then, he went into the bathroom to try his hand at it.

He soon realized his first mistake was in how he was holding the razor, and then, after watching another video, he figured out a few other tips to improve his technique.  Nonetheless, he managed to shave his whole face and neck for the first time, and it only took him about 45 minutes.  He never sliced himself, though he did poke himself once.  It didn’t bleed too badly, thankfully!

The next generation of straight-razor users watching closely.

Although not perfect, it did give a close-enough shave that he was able to wait a full 48 hours before he did it again, and the second time, it only took 30 minutes, and he did even better with improved technique.  His research claims it takes about 100 shaves, or a minimum of 30 days to really get decent at it and comfortable doing it.  He has every intention of sticking with it, though.  I was so excited by the baby’s-bottom-smooth face and fact the shave lasted several days, that I begged to use it for my legs.  No matter how much he loves me, though, I think he might love the razor more.  He said, “Not a chance!”  Oh well, it was worth a try.

