Today is exactly 9 weeks to move day.  Still a ways, but lots to do.  I have really been packing things that aren’t needed for a while.  I have started putting our furniture on Craigslist, as we are selling several large items before we move.  As a result, my bookshelf (which is for sale) is looking bare, the canning shelves are beginning to look sparse since we are starting to use up foods, one freezer has been turned off after we combined everything that remained into the other freezer, most of the surplus bee hives and supplies has been sold, and boxes are starting to pile up in our designated box room (formerly our family closet).

IMG_0122

IMG_0123

boxes

School is starting to wind down as well.  The kids are on lesson 143 out of 170, so just a few weeks left.  The remaining meat is being rationed, so we are eating lots of smoothies, veggies when available, and eggs since the hens are laying well.  Five of the hens will be going to a new home sometime next week, and then the following week, the remaining 15 will all be tested for pyllurom typhoid, as required for inter-state travel.  Yesterday, my final goat supply order from Hoegger’s arrived, which contained 2 hay-bags for the trailer.  Speaking of which, the trailer should be arriving sometime in the next 2 weeks, so that is very exciting.

Hay bags for the trailer, and a few other things for the trip.

Hay bags for the trailer, and a few other things for the trip.

We did have a hold up on the sale of the house.  The final inspection, our leach field, wound up failing.  Guess we now know why it backed up on S while I was gone last year!  Now we are on very tight water restrictions to avoid filling the septic tank until they get the leach field replaced.  I also have to limit the animals’ exercise while their pasture is torn up with exposed pipes.

Our pasture with part of the leach field dug.

Our pasture with part of the leach field dug.

I leave next week for my trip to Red Gate for last minute projects.  I will be getting the stalls and barn ready for the animals to be unloaded the night we arrive (probably around midnight), the garden area readied, the carpets and all air vents and duct work professionally cleaned, and if I have time, I will also do some painting in the master bedroom.  While I am gone, Joy, my first freshener doe is due to deliver.  Now, we all know how things here on the homefront went during my trip last year, so you can imagine my anxiety on this one.  If you weren’t reading back then, you can catch up here with Part 1 and Part 2.

Upon my return, we have the final appraisal on the house, and hope to know for sure within a week of that whether the sale will go through.  On April 5th, we have a big therapy appointment for A and N, essentially our last hope for help in dealing with their multiple issues (A more so than N).  That will be followed by getting some issues with the van repaired, multiple doctor and dentist appointments, prescription refills, getting the animals comfortable with the trailer, some batch cooking for frozen dinners for the move week, a yard sale, and final packing.  Due to several “kinks” that have presented in our plans, we are still finalizing our actual move plans…I think we are on “Plan F” about now….but the current plan is looking more solid all the time.

