After the bad week we had two weeks ago, I finally left for the farm, and things got better while I was away.  Thanks to some borrowed baby goats and a lot of effort by S, Joy’s milk came in, and none too soon.  When I left, Latte was still giving over a quart a day, but was clearly starting to dry herself off.  Upon my return yesterday, she is now producing about a cup and a half a day.  I’ll do another post later on what we did with Joy and why.

S seemed to have a much more relaxing week this year, hence the reason he never felt inclined to post on it.  Other than having to work a few days, he also ensured the septic issue was resolved, replaced all the fencing, took care of the appointment for getting our hens tested for interstate travel, and finished up the kids’ swimming lessons.  Additionally, he made a rule that he and the kids would do something really fun every day, and just enjoy their time together.  Here’s a few:

Fun thing #1:  Build a Piñata

Fun thing #1: Build a Piñata

Everyone was involved in the piñata making.

Everyone was involved in the piñata making.

What is it gonna be?

What is it gonna be?

A Pig Piñata!

A Pig Piñata!

Fun thing #2:  Jumping on Mommy and Daddy's bed?!  That is such a no-no, I can't believe he actually took a photo that I can now use against him!!

Fun thing #2: Jumping on Mommy and Daddy’s bed?! That is such a no-no, I can’t believe he actually took a photo that I can now use against him!!

...and what on earth did Daddy to to cause her curls to explode like that?!

…and what on earth did Daddy do to cause her curls to explode like that?!

A dear friend babysitting so S could go to work one day....she helped the kids make this sign and they e-mailed it to me.  Too sweet!

A dear friend babysitting so S could go to work one day….she helped the kids make this sign and they e-mailed it to me. Too sweet!

Easter egg hunt

Easter egg hunt.  To reduce the candy consumption, S filled the eggs with coins, little toys, and I.O.U.s for things like bubbles, silly string, and other miscellaneous items.

In addition, here are a couple videos of their activities:

http://youtu.be/a-49wOK3akA

http://youtu.be/IlPHuJdK6Gk

During my time alone at Red Gate Farm, things started out a little rough.  I arrived in IL with spring clothing, expecting to work outside.  The day after, we were hit with 12 inches of snow.  I had no parka, no snow boots, no wool socks, nothing.  I also hadn’t had a chance to go to the store for supplies yet, so I had no paint or anything for indoor projects.  After digging through all S’s stored items, I managed to find a few pairs of winter socks, of which I wore multiples to make an old pair of his triple wide boots sort of stay on my little feet, and I found an old military parka.  Thankfully, I had taken a good pair of wool-lined work gloves.  Thus was the start of my week.

As the snow melted though, things improved. I managed to get the master bedroom painted, as well as part of the main entry way; I got the carpet and HVAC ducts professionally cleaned; I got 4 raised beds built and fully set up for our square foot gardening plan;  I got the 4-beds worth of seeds planted, in the hopes something will grow over the next month.  We’ll see.  In addition, I got more preparations done for the trailer parking area, so it is ready to lay on gravel, and I got the barn stalls totally cleaned up and filled with shavings.  There were also some miscellaneous small projects and cleaning I took care of.  With all the activity, I think I cut my insulin needs in half last week!  Thankfully, I had time in the evenings to sit, relax, and read, and let my blood sugars stabilize before going to bed each evening.

Since my return, I have been informed that Daddy bought candy (a real treat because I’m usually the one who gets in trouble for that, while Daddy is usually the bad guy when it comes to sweets!), and Daddy makes better smoothies than me.  They did very much enjoy their time, though, and that is such a blessing.  I love knowing that I am blessed with a husband who is perfectly capable and trustworthy to take care of all our responsibilities in my absence, and I have no reason for any concern regarding his capabilities.

