Our long awaited, and much anticipated special order purchase has arrived!!!

IMG_0220

Isn’t she a beauty?!  Can you tell I’m a little excited?!

After finding such a great deal on a used truck, we were left with enough of a budget to custom order the exact trailer we wanted.  In order to get the versatile, multi-purpose use we needed, we ordered a good, solid, steel gooseneck stock trailer.  Because we planned to get draft horses after we move, it had to be tall enough for them.  We opted for the 7 foot, 6 inch height (a standard stock trailer is either 5’6″ or 6′), but since that is measured at the shortest spot in the frame–where the horse enters from the rear, the actual inside height of this trailer is about 7 foot 9 inches.

IMG_0224

The added height created such a large area in the gooseneck, we now have the option of hauling animals in there as well (which we will be doing on this upcoming trip), in addition to having plenty of room for camping or sleeping.  Thus, we had them add windows for ventilation as well.  You’ll also notice the standard escape door in the following photo, which gives us easy access to the front stall when necessary.

IMG_0225

We got rubber floor mats over the wood floor, and a slider on the rear door–that came in really handy yesterday when I was trying to load 3 goats and 2 dogs into the back stall without help!!  The half-slider door keeps all the other critters from escaping while I load the next one.

IMG_0228

Of course, I had to try it out to see how my big plan worked.  After spending about an hour teaching the donkeys how to load, I put both donkeys in the front stall, and they only used about 2/3 of the available space.  Both dogs and 3 goats only used about 1/2 the space in the back stall.  For some reason, S changed his mind about the little Alpine I was wanting for Valentine’s day, and since we have space in the trailer (and I suspect he really wants a bit more milk), he has given me permission to buy her after she freshens (any day now).  I think I’m going to leave her with her kids nursing for a few weeks, since she is a first freshener, and just pick her up in time to get her health papers.  I’ll let the kids do the initial work of stretching those teats out.  I am also going to load the donkeys a few times over the next few weeks, and probably even take the (non-pregnant) animals for a quick drive or two to give them a decent experience on a short drive before the upcoming lengthy one.  I’m hoping to make moving day, which includes loading all the critters around 4 in the morning, as smooth and easy as possible.

IMG_0221

 

Both me and my critters will be riding in some genuine country style and comfort on this long haul!!  In the mean time, it is nice to know that we no longer have to haul hay, straw, goats, chickens, etc. in my poor, abused minivan.  We may just become real farmer yet!

