The vet came out yesterday, and I figured I would post a follow up for anyone interested.  I had photos of the animals’s ailments yesterday, so I won’t bore you with the same here, however, you can find the post HERE.

As it turns out, the calf was banded the day he was delivered, which is apparently a very bad idea in June in this part of the country.  Flies had caused infection where his manhood was all detaching and falling away.  It was definitely beyond anything I could have done at this point.  She gave him a dose of antibiotic and banamine (pain killer and anti-inflammatory).  The good news is that the calf should be fine.  The bad news is that he is no longer a 100% , all-natural, chemical-free calf we can sell for beef.  So, Lord willing, we will sell the other one, which is still doing good and never had anything administered, and our family will eat this boy.  Of course, a year from now, all these chemicals will be long gone from his system, but still, we will always be honest with our customers! Lesson learned for future prevention:  don’t band or castrate in the summer in IL.

Shadow is allergic to fleas.  He doesn’t have fleas now, as I use frontline, but she found a tiny bit of residual flea dirt, likely from when he was in the animal shelter, but she said the flea saliva then was enough to irritate his skin.  If he is sensitive, it is possible the frontline may irritate him also.  However, she said to just be religious with the frontline to minimize the hairloss.  She claims we will likely have a partially bald cat every flea season.  I am going to do some experimenting to see if there is anything I can come up to avoid it, we’ll see.

I was at least right with Iris, as she had a hot spot that scratching was irritating further.  It had gotten infected, which is why my home remedies weren’t working and it also explained the constant ooze from it.  She, too, is on antibiotics.  Lesson learned:  catch and treat the hot spots much earlier, and I should be able to handle it.

Shiloh is suffering from “scratches.”  It’s essentially a bacterial or fungal infection caused by warm, moist environments.  In other words, dew covered grass in an Illinois summer.  Great!  She gave me some medicated shampoo to try, but I am also going to experiment with tea-tree oil.  Tea tree oil has become my favorite human cure-all, so I need to get better at trying it on the animals.  I could probably have stopped Iris’s hot spot with it, if I had treated it earlier.  I am curious to see if it works.

So, there you have it.  I not looking forward to this vet bill, but at least now we know and I can work to prevent in the future.

