Whether you call it a Daily Operations Center, Operation Central, Family Organization Center, or whatever else you prefer, when you have children, I have decided it makes life soooo much easier.  It’s one of the first things I try to get up when we move to a new house.  I have had several over the years, and they progressed from a simple chore chart on the wall to several items I found myself needing throughout the day.

Our "Training Center" condensed to a standard-sized bulletin board.

Our “Training Center” condensed to a standard-sized bulletin board.

This time, I wanted more than just a simple bulletin board.  The only wall I had to put it on was a centrally located wall in my dining room, which is also one of the first walls seen when you enter our front door.  Thus, I also needed it to look somewhat nice.  It desperately needed a new paint job anyway, but it meant I had to find a new location for the piano (which we don’t yet play, but it has been in S’s family for a while now).  This was the wall before:

before

 

Amazing what  a little paint, some picture frames, cork board, simple wood shelving and stain, and some trips to Hobby Lobby can create:

After

After

 

Our new “Family Operations Center” includes a small rack that contains baskets with our table cloths, napkins, and placemats, all plates and bowls, and our utensils so the kiddos whose job is to set the table have easy access, without being under-foot in the kitchen.  The upper shelf on the wall is just a decorative shelf I used to bring it all together.  It just looked better with it.  On the left is a basic photo frame with a calendar I drew on poster board.  With the glass over it, it makes a perfect, decorative, dry erase calendar.  Under that is our “Penny Jars,”  which I will explain in another post.  Below the shelf are where the Chore Packs hang.  You can read more about that HERE.  I have made some changes to the Chore Pack system we used in the past, which I will also discuss in a future post.

To the right of those things is another picture frame, with no glass.  I cut a cork board to fit in about 2/3 of it, where I can hang our “If-Then Chart”, our “Extra Chore Chart”, and a bit of room to expand.  The other 1/3 is a vinyl cover that creates another dry-erase section for to-do lists and such.

Finally, all the way to the right is our new “Family Rules” list.  I couldn’t find a pretty one that was Christian based, but this one was pretty good.  It has things like “Do Your Best,” “Hug Often,” “Laugh at Yourself,” “Share,” and other such things can generally keep peace in a home.

I am very pleased with how it turned out.  Now maybe I can start getting things more organized around here, now that the kids have some direction to help out!

