We’ve had to say good-bye here around the farm a couple of times recently.

First, it was Asha, Shiloh’s yearling jenny foal.  Unfortunately, I didn’t get a photo before she left.  She became a bit of a handful–more like a spoiled rotten little brat, in reality.  I had no time to work with her, and she took full advantage of that.  She chased the cows, she chased the goats, she chased the chickens, and she chased the dogs.  Then, one day, I happened to look up just in time to see her pin her ears and charge across the paddock toward little A, who was trying to come to me.  I intervened and put a stop to that, and the next morning, I put her on Craigslist for a slightly lower price.  Pestering the other critters is one thing.  Going after my kid is another!  Surprisingly, she sold within 3 hours of my post, and they immediately came and picked her up.  She went to a new farm, where she will be a guardian of cattle to help protect from the local coyote population.  I was able to honestly assure them that no other critter would be allowed to peacefully try to dine on their cattle if Asha was around!

We’ve had our moments of missing her, but I have to admit, I forgot how peaceful things were before she came along.  Shiloh is back to her old self now, happily munching alongside the goats rather than chasing them.  I can put her in a pen with any of our other critters, and she is content.  We can now ride without her screaming for Asha, and it is so nice to work with her sans Asha’s annoying attempts to steal Shiloh’s attention.

The next loss, far more unexpected, was Mocha.  To add insult to injury, Mocha was my 2nd best doe (ling), and I had planned to keep her and sell her dam.

Mocha

I put all the critters to bed one night, and the next morning, walked out to find her lying prostrate on her side, foaming at the mouth, and struggling to breathe.  I quickly grabbed my Vitamin C, but it was already too late.  She was beyond swallowing.  I found myself cursing our laws once again, as I am confident injectable Vit C may have helped, but I can’t find a vet willing to write the legally required prescription to obtain it.  Instead, I was forced to run to the house and grab my gun, dreading shooting my first animal.  Mercifully, by the time I returned, she was gone.

I am 99% confident it was entero, as I had just dealt with a bought of it with Latte’. I caught Latte a bit earlier, while she was still standing and walking.  After a few doses of Vit C, vitamin paste, kelp, parsley, and copper (spread out over a few hours time), she bounced right back and was fine by the next morning.  I believe both episodes were brought on by a lack of proper nutrition.  Ever since we moved in, the goats have been adapting to a whole new feed source.  In addition, due to the rotational nature, I had yet to find a convenient way to ensure they had daily access to kelp.   They would often go days without it.  Since the episodes, I have solved that issue and been faithfully offering their kelp on a daily basis.  It took 3 days for them to catch up and stop licking the bowl clean.  They were a lot more behind than I thought.   I have also increased the opportunities to browse the forest rather than be limited to pasture.  I haven’t had any other issues since then, so hopefully we won’t deal with that again.

I hate when I have to learn the hard way!  Losses are always rough.

