I’m making progress…in my wood-working skills, unpacking, and decorating the house.  Here’s my latest:

First, I built a frame:

IMG_1101
Then I attached top boards, ripped to 5 inches wide:

IMG_1102

Next, I used liquid nails, a couple of screws, and some finishing nails (yeah, a little overkill, but hey, it’s for kiddos!)  to attach trim:

IMG_1106

IMG_1104

I leveled the top good with a sander, filled all seams and gaps with wood putty, and sanded again:

IMG_1107

Finally, I attached it to a backboard of plywood:

IMG_1109Wanna take a guess yet?

After that part was complete, I made 2 shelves to match and some supports to match, painted it all to coordinate with the room it was to go in, attached a light, and voila:

IMG_1134

The shelf supports were set up to also act as book ends, and I also added more supports to the top of the desk and the top shelf:

IMG_1136

Then, I finally got around to doing a little more organizing in the boy’s room, so JR is officially ready for school to start in just 3 weeks!

IMG_1137

Now, to find him a chair….

