Wow, what a week!  This week has been a bit of a rough one for me.

Roofers began tearing off our roof last week, and reinstalling the new one this week.  For a week, there is been almost constant pounding all day long.  Until the last 2 days, when most of the old shingles were finally thrown off, I kept the kiddos inside to ensure their safety.  5 kids in a 1900 square foot house on sunny day after sunny day can get a little rough–on the kids, the mom, and the house!

What my driveway has looked like for the last week.

What my driveway has looked like for the last week.

A partial new roof (the shiny part).

A partial new roof (the shiny part).

We were scheduled to start school next week, but I’m still undecided if I’m going to try, or postpone another week.  I feel so unprepared right now, and am still unpacking school supplies.  In addition, the projects I had planned for each day this week keep getting postponed due to other things.  We had the blessing of being able to cut and bale hay this week, and I have spent about 8 hours out in the field helping, learning, and heaving the hay bales into the barn.  I have over 100 currently in the barn from my tiny field, and the hay guy is bringing over another almost 50 this morning to sell me.  Now, I have to get them from their temporary location to the upstairs loft, and I have had no luck finding a good, strong young guy that actually enjoys farm work.

My hay field, with the grass in windrows.

My hay field, with the grass in windrows.

Baling

Baling

As if that wasn’t enough, I am having some issues with a neighbor that just adds to the stress, the kids are finally showing some rebellion issues due to daddy-deprivation, I have a goat with ketosis that just won’t snap out of it (even with veterinary intervention), and I have decided I am a bit lonesome with so little adult contact.

Don’t get me wrong, I am not complaining here.  I am blessed, I am seeing dreams coming true, and I knew this time was going to be hard.  It just hits me once in a while how hard.  Like now, when I am absolutely, totally exhausted.  Yet, no matter how worn out I am, I still have to clean the kitchen every night, milk the goats twice a day, move the chickens, water the cows, and try to get a few more shelves built so I can finally finish unpacking.  Somewhere in there, I always try to find enough time for the kiddos, do the boys’ therapy, and maybe even find some time for reading a book to the kiddos or going to the park for a few minutes.  Of course, on the up side, I am still sleeping better than I have slept in years.  This type of exhaustion is total, whole body, mental, physical, and emotional, and it causes the best kind of deep sleep!

Oh, and we also have more additions (albeit temporary, I hope).  Remember Katie, the barn cat, who got pregnant within days of us getting her and before we could get her spayed?  She finally delivered 6 adorable kittens.

kittens

