I mentioned in a previous post (or 5) that a major challenge of this move has been the fact that we downsized from a 2400 sq.foot house to a 1600 sq. ft (plus basement) home.  We took our family of 7 from a 4 bedroom home to a 3 bedroom.  And, most challenging of all, we moved our rather extensive homeschool and personal library from a home with lots of storage to a home that had almost none.  Ever wonder what that might look like?  Yeah, I’m ashamed to admit, most of our summer involved our loft looking like this:

Rail side of loft, before....

Rail side of loft, before….

Window side of loft, before....

Window side of loft, before….

Yeah, that’s our boxes and books piled up on the floor, with hardly a trail to find what we needed.  You can’t see the makeshift box and card table set-up in the left corner for the computer and printer.  It was an unorganized mess, and I needed a plan, fast.  (For the record, that branch-type arch on the far wall was painted on as a faux headboard by the last owner.  It’s still there.  I will get around to painting it one day, but that’s pretty low on the priority list right now.)  With school starting in the near future, I had to get that space functional and organized.  Thus, I sat down with my drawing pad, came up with ideas, figured out a plan, and started to work on it.

First, I needed a plan for all the stuff, so I decided to build shelves in the hallway outside the loft.  Although the hall shelves actually went up AFTER the loft project, it was still a critical part of getting the final result:

I have to add one more shelf on the bottom before this project is complete, but you get the idea.  The decorating part is thanks to my mom.

I have to add one more shelf on the bottom before this project is complete, but you get the idea. The decorating part is thanks to my mom.

Once I got stuff out of the way, though, I was able to start building in the loft.  This was by far my most challenging project yet, as I wanted to build a wall-mounted counter/desk area.  It had to be built in place, though, which was a much bigger deal than I originally anticipated.  After having to start over on the project twice, I called in a relative who has made a career and a retirement out of his building skills.  He came and rescued me (and my loft).  I told him what I wanted, showed him how far I had gotten, he made a few changes and finished the rest of the building.  Then, I had to go back and fill gaps with wood putty, sand everything as smooth as I could (let’s just say it’s a good thing I like the “rough-cut” look and feel!), and stain the whole thing.  After several weeks of work though, I am absolutely thrilled with the final result:

....The railing side of the loft, after.

….The railing side of the loft, after.

...The window side of the loft, after.

…The window side of the loft, after.

I designed the counter to wrap around three walls of the loft.  The left side has the computer and printer, the center area also has 2 shelves for the boys’ school stuff, and the far wall has 2 more shelves and more counter space for additional school and activity storage.  The counter space beneath each window serves as individual desks for the boys.  In this photo, you can also see a TV table in front of N, as, until I find another chair like A has, N is too short to color on the new desk.  So, he uses the TV table for his worksheets instead.  The boys are in different grades, K4 and K5, and each have their own DVD player, class programs, and so forth.  As a result, they wear ear phones to help with their focus, and it seems to work pretty well so far.  If there is likely to be a lot of distractions in a lesson one day, then I always have the option of putting one of the boys at my desk outside the loft, or downstairs at the table.  For the most part, though, this setup works, allowing me to sit and read a book, do some paperwork, or work on the computer, all while monitoring their school day.  Most mornings, R sits beside N and does some of his easier K4 lessons with him.

I still have a bit of tweaking to do to totally finish this area–cord control, a little lamp/reading table by the lounger, painting those faux headboards (there is a second one behind the computer area), etc.  I’ll also be dusting and wiping this area for months before I will get the dust that still remains after the sanding job.  Oh well.  I just love this area, though, and since school has started, it’s a good thing since I likely now spend more time here than anywhere else.

