I was recently honored to be contacted via e-mail by blog reader thebelmontrooster.wordpress.com asking if I would accept the “Very Inspiring Blogger” award.  It totally made my day that a reader found some inspiration in these pages of randomness, also known as the story of my life.  I humbly and gratefully accept:

viba-11

What was very honoring is that he wanted me to accept, even after I confessed I was unable to fulfill all the normal terms of a blog award in a timely manner, but I promised to do what I can:

1. Thank the person who nominated you and add a link to their blog.

2. Display the award on your post

3 List the award rules so your nominees will know what to do.

4. State 7 things about yourself.

5. Nominate 15 other bloggers for the award, as you are able.  (I can’t fulfill this one, as I don’t even follow 15 blogs!  I’m sure I’ll add blogs over time, though.)

7. Proudly display the award logo (or buttons) to your blog.

I feel terrible that he nominated me for this award almost 2 weeks ago, and I am only just now posting it.  Better late than never, right?  In any case, I guess I have to tell you seven things about myself that you may or may not already know…..hmmm…..

1.  I have been a Type 1 diabetic since I was 4 years old.  You may know that one, but the fact is, I am very blessed by the fact that God has allowed me to break every single statistic out there, as, after 29 years, I have absolutely no complications, and am perfectly healthy.  I actually HAVE gone into mild renal failure (kidney) twice in past years, but as I learned to better control my diabetes and diet, God healed me completely both times.

2.  I wrote a book.  Long time readers and friends know that one already, but hey, I might as well get a little publicity after #1. It’s called “Diabetes: Overcome Your Fears,” and is very reasonably priced on Amazon.com.  It is an easy read, and chock full of all the info I have learned about controlling diabetes and health over the years.  In fact, since I know you are now jumping at the chance to own your very own copy, here is the direct link:http://www.amazon.com/Diabetes-Overcome-D-R-Londrigan/dp/0615326145/ref=sr_1_12?ie=UTF8&qid=1316884594&sr=8-12  After you read it, please be kind enough to leave a feedback comment on Amazon.com.  If you want a signed, personalized copy, message me here.  It’s the same price plus a couple bucks shipping.

3.  I used to train horses for the mounted police department.  I worked with both the Maryland-National Capital Park Police as a trainer, and I was a rider with the Los Angeles Sheriff’s Department Mounted Posse.  Pretty cool to have the honor of riding my own personally trained horse through the fairgrounds, streets, and shopping districts of Los Angeles County, CA!

4.  My biggest weakness is patience.  God blessed me with 5 beautiful and amazing children and then called me to homeschool, and I have often wondered why he chose to do either.  I certainly don’t feel I extend the patience I should, and feel so unworthy when people accuse me of being a patient person.

5.  Just a few short years ago, we were a typical American family.  Yup, we ate at restaurants regularly, had only a pet cat and dog, watched television daily, didn’t know anything about eating natural, grass-fed, or organic, and by all accounts, were just normal, every-day “city-folk.”  In fact, I really didn’t even know HOW to cook decent food, and I didn’t know know the difference between an artichoke and asparagus.  This blog chronicles our journey.

6.  We don’t own a television.  When JR was a toddler, we tossed the tube, and have never regretted it!  We do use pre-approved, commercial-less Netflix on the computer occasionally, I confess.  It is probably wrong how much I enjoy it when TV, cable, or satellite salesman call me or stop me in the stores to try to get me to sign on.  I LOVE to stop them dead in their tracks with a simple “Don’t waste your time; I don’t own a television.”  It leaves them speechless and stunned every time.

7.  We don’t own a cell phone and I’ve never texted in my life.  I LOVE not being tied to a phone.  I am totally ok with letting my home voicemail answer calls, and then returning them when I have a better time to focus.  We DO, however, have a Tracfone–a pre-paid emergency phone, essentially.  It’s a totally basic flip phone with no internet connections or photo storage (to my knowledge), but something we can carry with us for babysitters, travels, or safety.

OK, guess that’s it for now.  Thank you kindly, again, Belmont Rooster!

