Every year, goat breeding season rolls around, and every year, I miss my beloved buck, Stallion (we had to sell him, which you can read about here).  Every year, I consider buying another good buck so I don’t have to worry about finding and depending on some outside buck.  Then, God always blesses us with a good outside buck who visits for a while, and every year, I suddenly find myself reminded of the fact that I do NOT, in fact, care to own a buck, nor do I even want one on the property a day longer than necessary to get the deed done.

This summer, I sold the best buckling I’ve ever had born on my farm (in fact, Pride was the only buck I’ve ever kept in tact).  Unfortunately, he was too closely related to most of my girls this year, so I sold him with breeding rights, which included use of another buck owned by the buyer.  This new buck, Fearless, has a very impressive pedigree, is probably even friendlier than Stallion was, and I can’t deny he is a gorgeous Alpine boy with an impressive beard!

IMG_1753

What I also cannot deny is the the smell he exuded, which hit me before I was within 50 feet of that trailer.  A week after his delivery, I do believe his bucky aroma had permeated every nook, cranny, and crevice of my barn, was my constant companion during milking, had altered the flavor of my normally-delicious goat milk (in a bucky sort of way–not good!), and occasionally made its presence known even in the house after someone accidentally let him rub his disgusting beard on their clothing.

I was originally planning to hang onto him for about 8 weeks, to make sure all girls were covered, and give me time to preg-check them.  The smell was just more than I could handle though, so as soon as I saw all girls bred, I hauled the beast home!

Other than the stink, though, he was a gentlemen for the most part.  He did what we needed him to do, and never asked for more than a hug in return.

