After we ran out of outdoor projects that could be accomplished in the frigid temperatures, we decided to bump one of our summer projects up–a complete kitchen renovation.  This is something I have longed to do for YEARS.  I can’t really say why, but I have hated our kitchen since we bought this farm.  It just seemed claustrophobic, dark, and cramped.  There were center dividers on every cabinet front that I constantly banged my knuckles on, there was no storage space for a family of 7, the oversized fridge stuck out into the middle of it, and we were always getting in each other’s way.  Although S was perfectly fine with the current kitchen, he wasn’t opposed to pleasing me (he likes his home-cooked dinners after all!), so he agreed, and our kitchen planning began.

HOLY SMOKES!  Do you have ANY idea how much new cabinets cost today?  Yeah, neither did we!  And the quoted prices were based on the idea that we were doing the work ourselves.  Our dreams of that perfect kitchen got smaller and simpler each time we got a new quote.  YOWSERS!  I could buy a small house for some of the quality kitchen basics I wanted.  Dreams of wood trimmed counter tops, under cabinet lighting, custom-fit utensil trays, and other non-necessities quickly got discarded so I could get my slide-out pot and pan drawers, hidden waste cans, and dairy/egg cupboard.

Finally, we settled for the most basic, inexpensive kitchen we could, yet that would still provide me with the essentials I had deemed priorities.  We aren’t finished quite yet, as it has to be done in stages, but I am LOVING the results so far!  We are still waiting on the new counter tops and the flooring, so I will have actual before and after pics later, but here’s a taste of what we have so far:

First, we had to move some old cabinets out, which meant stashing our food in another cabinet that could stay a little longer.  When children help with this job, the result is something like this.

First, we had to move some old cabinets out, which meant stashing our food in another cabinet that could stay a little longer. When children help with this job, the result is something like this.

Then, a dividing wall gets evaluated for tear down and kitchen expansion.

Then, a dividing wall got evaluated for tear down and kitchen expansion.

Kids come in handy when it comes to the destruction part!

Kids came in handy when it came to the destruction part!

Everybody had a part.

Everybody had a part.

Wall is down and pantry gone!

Wall is down and pantry gone!

Kitchen is one big room now.

Kitchen is one big room now.

The rest of the cabinets were removed, and plumbing connections redone and cleaned up.

The rest of the cabinets were removed, and plumbing connections redone and cleaned up.

Linoleum removed from floor and glue scraped up.

Linoleum removed from floor and glue scraped up.

New cabinets arrived and got stored in the living room.

New cabinets arrived and got stored in the living room.

New cabinets begin to get installed as walls are painted.

New cabinets begin to get installed as walls are painted.

In addition, S did some rewiring to set up new outlets and light switches for me, and current light fixtures were switched to LED.  As soon as we get the new floor and counter tops installed, I will show you the final result.  Let’s just say I can’t wait!

